Showroom

Coffee rating #3

Location: 26 Bird Street, Stellenbosch
Trading hours: Mon-Fri: 08:00 – 17:00
Sat: 08:00 – 15:00
Contact: 021 886 6911

Fact: There is no place in the world I have ever been where I felt closer to Wonderland than I did in this little golden spot on Bird Street, Stellenbosch.

After putting a Showroom-visit off for months and months, we finally decided that it was time to step into the magical world awaiting inside those doors to celebrate the birthday of a friend.

Usually when visiting a new coffee shop, our first instinct would be to ask for the wifi-password, seeing as we normally bring our laptops along for the outing in order to use the time to get some work done (this way you will feel less guilty about all the treats). It took a while before realizing that we never even thought of asking for the password (which might largely have gotten to do with the fact that we were being social and birthday-ish). However, I think that I was simply too distracted and hypnotized by everything happening in the shop to allow myself to think about anything that was not related to tea and cake and flowers and queens and magic.

The summer weather made us order iced coffees instead of the expected pot of tea (I felt a tiny bit of guilt for betraying Tea, The Beloved). But the first sip ensured me that my choice had been made wisely.

The menu has a variety of healthy breakfasts, light meals and delicious desserts. We respectively ordered a gypsy ham and cheddar cheese sandwich as well as a shredded chicken mayo sandwich, both served on sourdough bread and accompanied by a portion of salad, and then gave in to the chocolate carrot cake, so good I wanted to spend the rest of my life with it. I’m not even being dramatic.

Moving on to the decor, I honestly do not know where to start. I don’t even know what to say. Just look at the pictures. I don’t even know. You will feel as though you are dreaming. Fallen into the hole in the ground. Turned into Alice. Just look at the pictures.

Lovely staff, incredible food and being able to buy absolutely anything in the shop, Showroom is the perfect hiding place from reality. They also organize and host a variety of events. Visit their website to find out more about their private functions.

Certainly was not the last time we would be seen in Showroom.

One thought on “Showroom

Leave a Reply

